Article DetailsDetailsHelp DetailsThis article aims to provide further information about what happens when an Aura database instance is paused. Note: A full backup (snapshot) is performed as part of the pause/resume process, so the larger an instance, the longer a pause/resume action may take Pausing Instance 1. The pause button is clicked 2. Status in Database tile updates to: Pausing 3. You will continue being charged as a running instance till the status is set to Paused 4. A full backup of the instance is automatically initiated 5. Backup is completed 6. Status now changes to Paused in the console, and from that point in time, you will be charged for your instance as a Paused one NOTEs: Aura instances will be automatically resumed after 30 days to ensure they don't miss critical updatesThe creator of the instance will receive a notification about the resume action. You have the option to pause the instance againIf you don't prefer this, you can download a dump of your instance and then destroy itYou can re-upload the dump to a new instance when needed Resuming Instance 1. Resume button is clicked 2. Status changes to Resuming 3. You will continue being charged as it is a Paused instance, and only when the instance status is set to Running will you start being charged as a running instance (at step 5 of this procedure) 4. Restoration of the full backup is initiated 5. The instance now shows as Running If you experience any issues when performing these actions, please contact our Support Team. Please review "Customer Portal: How to Create a Case" for further details. Related article: Neo4j-Aura-Billing-FAQInformationTitleWhat Happens When I Pause/Resume My Aura InstanceArticle Created Date3/15/2024, 10:57 PMURL Name13223111830547-What-Happens-When-I-Pause-Resume-My-Aura-InstanceLast Modified Date8/12/2026, 7:26 AM